IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Considering The Turbo Engine Swap But...
IgoRR
post 22nd September 2013 19:19
Post #21 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 478
Joined: 21st August 2009
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 10:39
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Member No.: 4,352
Driving: Alfa Romeo 145 QV
From: Zagreb, Croatia



The wires(connectors) from the Lancia are 90 - 95% plug'n'play

axle drives are the same on all the 16vt

btw, the Lancia engine is a better quality engine than the Fiat one.

Better intake plenum, more precise engine parts, etc.

And yes, I am excited biggrin.gif

Would like to do the swap myself.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 22nd September 2013 20:17
Post #22 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(IgoRR @ 22nd September 2013 19:19) *
The wires(connectors) from the Lancia are 90 - 95% plug'n'play

axle drives are the same on all the 16vt

btw, the Lancia engine is a better quality engine than the Fiat one.

Better intake plenum, more precise engine parts, etc.

And yes, I am excited biggrin.gif

Would like to do the swap myself.



whistle.gif whistle.gif THANKS! rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

but what about the gearbox?? still the sameone as fiat coupè t16??

as at now for 90% i've found a 100% fiat coupè donor, for 800€ 90000km , it only need a new water pump

i'm also excited for the delta engine but thats 1500€ .... for 100000km, vendor says, is better to make a new cambelt blush.gif


i need to calm down and choose!!! blush.gif rant.gif angry.gif

This post has been edited by AQV: 22nd September 2013 20:29


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 25th September 2013 19:45
Post #23 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



so i've choosed the delta one cool.gif

questions:

- is it possible to leave the hot air circuit? the heater. don't want the clima
- is also possible to leave the battery in his original place?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
black 146
post 25th September 2013 20:16
Post #24 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 3,365
Joined: 2nd January 2009
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: norfolk
Member No.: 3,861
Driving: alfa 145 1.6ish
From: norfolk



QUOTE(AQV @ 25th September 2013 20:45) *
so i've choosed the delta one cool.gif

questions:

- is it possible to leave the hot air circuit? the heater. don't want the clima
- is also possible to leave the battery in his original place?






have a look at this
http://forum.berlinasportivo.com/showthread.php?t=2483


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 25th September 2013 20:23
Post #25 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



allready went there, not much usefull other than this pic



wich explains quite nothing since its not all installed, so i can't figure out my doubts.

and the other pics i see, are about an EXTREME tuning, since aint aming on 900hp isn't much usefull to me

This post has been edited by AQV: 25th September 2013 20:25


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
black 146
post 25th September 2013 20:53
Post #26 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 3,365
Joined: 2nd January 2009
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: norfolk
Member No.: 3,861
Driving: alfa 145 1.6ish
From: norfolk



i gave up trying to log in ? on to the web site


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Alfa-Si
post 25th September 2013 20:56
Post #27 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 309
Joined: 2nd October 2010
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Wakefield
Member No.: 5,554
Driving: '00 Alfa Romeo 145 20v turbo
From: Wakefield



QUOTE(AQV @ 25th September 2013 20:45) *
so i've choosed the delta one cool.gif

questions:

- is it possible to leave the hot air circuit? the heater. don't want the clima
- is also possible to leave the battery in his original place?


You can keep the 145 heater just connect the 2 pipes from the 145 bulkhead to the engine.
I think you'll probably be able to keep the battery where it is, I have it in the original place with my 20vt.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 25th September 2013 21:10
Post #28 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(black 146 @ 25th September 2013 20:53) *
i gave up trying to log in ? on to the web site



uhm.. yes, if you aren't registered you can't view many pages since the cookies are stored in your browser history, just use another browser or reboot your router, you'll be fine!

QUOTE(Alfa-Si @ 25th September 2013 20:56) *
You can keep the 145 heater just connect the 2 pipes from the 145 bulkhead to the engine.
I think you'll probably be able to keep the battery where it is, I have it in the original place with my 20vt.


ok good, so in that case i can also remove the small radiator since is the one for the AC isn't it??

good also for the battery, your engine is wider so if you can do that i would also be able on a 4 cilinder engine!!

thanks man for your usefull posts worshippy.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Alfa-Si
post 25th September 2013 22:09
Post #29 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 309
Joined: 2nd October 2010
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Wakefield
Member No.: 5,554
Driving: '00 Alfa Romeo 145 20v turbo
From: Wakefield



Yeah the small rad in front of the large water rad is for the A/C so if you don't want A/C get rid and obviously the rest of the pipes and drier as well.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 28th September 2013 22:12
Post #30 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(Alfa-Si @ 25th September 2013 22:09) *
Yeah the small rad in front of the large water rad is for the A/C so if you don't want A/C get rid and obviously the rest of the pipes and drier as well.



thanks!!! that's really great!!

---------

so... waiting for the engine to arrive, i think that:

- i'm going to use the qv front suspensions because i'm about to get a Koni V1 adjustable ammo set
- selling my front 284mmx22 tar-ox g88 disks and calipers and install the coupè 20 vt 4pistons calipers and 305 mm disks
- sell away the cda carbon filter bcoz for the lancia delta engine conversion i don't think it will fit nicely as i've done now for the TS engine.

whistle.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Ganz
post 29th September 2013 01:30
Post #31 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 622
Joined: 2nd November 2012
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: East Mids
Member No.: 10,640
Driving: 145 Cloverleaf 2.0L ts
From: uk



Sorry to hear about your 145. I've heard people talk about the Intergralle. Depends what you want. What about the Italian insurance??


--------------------
G A N Z 145
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
langers
post 29th September 2013 08:43
Post #32 | Print


Forum Moderator
******

Group: Moderator
Posts: 5,441
Joined: 14th April 2008
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: Lincoln
Member No.: 3,059
Driving: Audi A3 Sportback S-Line 1.4 TFSI COD
From: Lincoln



Please do more research regarding this comment:
- i'm going to use the qv front suspensions because i'm about to get a Koni V1 adjustable ammo set

I THINK, the flanges that connect the hub to the strut will be wider on the turbo models, the QV is relatively thin.


--------------------

'96 Purple 145 QV died from rust - '98 Blue Junior SOLD - '99 Red 145 QV 20VT SOLD - '97 145 QV Track Tart SOLD
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 29th September 2013 10:16
Post #33 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(Ganz @ 29th September 2013 01:30) *
Sorry to hear about your 145. I've heard people talk about the Intergralle. Depends what you want. What about the Italian insurance??


thanks, i also have some good/bad news for my qv engine.....

about the italian insurance is better don't talk about, they are not permissive for this kind of things, just if you install the strut bar and you get involved in an accident they can't deny the insurance cover so......

QUOTE(langers @ 29th September 2013 08:43) *
Please do more research regarding this comment:
- i'm going to use the qv front suspensions because i'm about to get a Koni V1 adjustable ammo set

I THINK, the flanges that connect the hub to the strut will be wider on the turbo models, the QV is relatively thin.


do you mean this

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 29th September 2013 10:49
Post #34 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,484
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(AQV @ 29th September 2013 11:16) *
do you mean this

Attached Image

No, he means where the hub bolts to the suspension strut...



The gap in the suspension strut mounts where they bolt to the hub is 25mm on a QV but on the Fiat Coupe struts the gap is 35mm. This means a Coupe hub will not fit a set of QV struts because the gap will be to small to fit the hub into which is why when fitting the hubs and drive shafts from a Fiat Coupe you also need to use the Coupe struts.

I assume the engine you're using is out of a Nuova Delta (the 2nd generation without 4WD)? If you're going to be using the drive shafts and hubs from one of those you need to check what size the Delta hub is so you know whether or not you can use QV struts.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 29th September 2013 10:57
Post #35 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



ah ok thanks! .... so if i use the 145 suspension my only problem would be for the 305mm disks and calipers, right?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 29th September 2013 11:12
Post #36 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,484
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 09:39
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(AQV @ 29th September 2013 11:57) *
ah ok thanks! .... so if i use the 145 suspension my only problem would be for the 305mm disks and calipers, right?

No, the issue has nothing to do with the brake disks and calipers. It's to do with the drive shafts and hubs.

You will need to use the drive shafts from a Coupe/Delta because the QV drive shafts won't fit the 16vt gearbox. This in turn means that you will need to use the Coupe/Delta hubs because the Coupe/Delta drive shafts will not fit the original QV hubs. So, by using Coupe/Delta hubs you will need struts that will accommodate the width of the hub mounts where they bolt to the strut.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 29th September 2013 12:47
Post #37 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(GialloEvo94 @ 29th September 2013 11:12) *
No, the issue has nothing to do with the brake disks and calipers. It's to do with the drive shafts and hubs.

You will need to use the drive shafts from a Coupe/Delta because the QV drive shafts won't fit the 16vt gearbox. This in turn means that you will need to use the Coupe/Delta hubs because the Coupe/Delta drive shafts will not fit the original QV hubs. So, by using Coupe/Delta hubs you will need struts that will accommodate the width of the hub mounts where they bolt to the strut.


ah but that's ok, the engine is coming with its own driveshaft and gearbox, so now i need to know then if i can still use the front qv sospensions set , use the delta driveshafts, and coupè hubs, if not need to know what do i need!

i'm sorry to being so boring but i'm making some difficulties by understanding the tecnical words and parts in english, i hope you ppl will have patience to help me out blush.gif

This post has been edited by AQV: 29th September 2013 12:49


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Alfa-Si
post 29th September 2013 13:00
Post #38 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 309
Joined: 2nd October 2010
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Wakefield
Member No.: 5,554
Driving: '00 Alfa Romeo 145 20v turbo
From: Wakefield



QUOTE(AQV @ 29th September 2013 13:47) *
ah but that's ok, the engine is coming with its own driveshaft and gearbox, so now i need to know then if i can still use the front qv sospensions set , use the delta driveshafts, and coupè hubs, if not need to know what do i need!

i'm sorry to being so boring but i'm making some difficulties by understanding the tecnical words and parts in english, i hope you ppl will have patience to help me out blush.gif


No, to use the delta driveshafts and hubs, you have to use the delta suspension.

basically you need the engine, gearbox, driveshafts, hubs, brakes, suspension from the delta. the alfa parts will not fit the delta parts.

The only alfa parts left effectively will be the bodywork.

This post has been edited by Alfa-Si: 29th September 2013 13:00


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
AnthonyT16
post 29th September 2013 13:15
Post #39 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 400
Joined: 19th March 2013
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Italy
Member No.: 10,931
Driving: 145 16vt
From: IT



QUOTE(Alfa-Si @ 29th September 2013 13:00) *
No, to use the delta driveshafts and hubs, you have to use the delta suspension.

basically you need the engine, gearbox, driveshafts, hubs, brakes, suspension from the delta. the alfa parts will not fit the delta parts.

The only alfa parts left effectively will be the bodywork.


just found the hubs on ebay.... so one less, need to check if suspensions and brakes of qv will fit, wating a guys reply on facebook wich did this type of conversion, let's see what he will answer about!

This post has been edited by AQV: 29th September 2013 13:33


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Alfa-Si
post 29th September 2013 13:37
Post #40 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 309
Joined: 2nd October 2010
Local Time: 23rd June 2017 08:39
From: Wakefield
Member No.: 5,554
Driving: '00 Alfa Romeo 145 20v turbo
From: Wakefield



QUOTE(AQV @ 29th September 2013 14:15) *
just found the hubs on ebay.... so one less, need to check if suspensions and brakes of qv will fit, wating a guys reply on facebook wich did this type of conversion, let's see what he will answer about!


The suspension will not fit. The lower mounting (part at the bottom of the strutt where 2 bolts go through the hub) are different sizes.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23 Jun 2017 08:39