IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Airbag Light Came On While Driving
will145
post 13th May 2014 18:17
Post #1 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 152
Joined: 19th July 2013
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: Wiltshire
Member No.: 11,134
Driving: GTV 2.0, 156 GTA, Fiat Cinquecento 16v Turbo, Audi A6, Seat Leon
From: Wiltshire or Spain



Coming home from work today, was doing a u-turn round a roundabout, and the air bag light suddenly popped up. I've ordered the cables to reset it if possible.....but why has it come on in the first place? Is it possible a connection has come loose somewhere or something?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
black 146
post 13th May 2014 18:29
Post #2 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 3,368
Joined: 2nd January 2009
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: norfolk
Member No.: 3,861
Driving: alfa 145 1.6ish
From: norfolk



QUOTE(will145 @ 13th May 2014 19:17) *
Coming home from work today, was doing a u-turn round a roundabout, and the air bag light suddenly popped up. I've ordered the cables to reset it if possible.....but why has it come on in the first place? Is it possible a connection has come loose somewhere or something?





most of the time it's the seat connection ones check them first


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
will145
post 15th May 2014 20:22
Post #3 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 152
Joined: 19th July 2013
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: Wiltshire
Member No.: 11,134
Driving: GTV 2.0, 156 GTA, Fiat Cinquecento 16v Turbo, Audi A6, Seat Leon
From: Wiltshire or Spain



I got the cables, and connected it up to multiecuscan......but it can't connect to the ecu.....engine ecu either. I'll have to have another play tomorrow with the settings on the laptop.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Cloverleaf76
post 15th May 2014 20:38
Post #4 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,188
Joined: 29th February 2008
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
Member No.: 2,973
Driving: Alfa 145 Cloverleaf, Alfa 147
From: M25 J11



QUOTE(will145 @ 15th May 2014 21:22) *
I got the cables, and connected it up to multiecuscan......but it can't connect to the ecu.....engine ecu either. I'll have to have another play tomorrow with the settings on the laptop.


A million reasons this may not work first time: sorry if I'm teaching you to suck eggs but firstly, are you plugged into the correct port? Airbag ecu plug-in is hidden behind a panel in passenger dash cut-out: you cannot bus into it via the main diagnostic port as on an OBDII /EOBD car. Also, depending on the machine and cable you are using increase all time-outs to maximum. For engine ECU you need a line from the battery, was that clipped on cleanly? For airbag ecu am not sure that's needed: have you checked?

There is masses on this in old threads on here smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
will145
post 16th May 2014 18:44
Post #5 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 152
Joined: 19th July 2013
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: Wiltshire
Member No.: 11,134
Driving: GTV 2.0, 156 GTA, Fiat Cinquecento 16v Turbo, Audi A6, Seat Leon
From: Wiltshire or Spain



Thanks for your help....I haven't got a clue with these sort of things. After a lot of fiddling with parameters, I finally got the laptop to connect with the engine ECU, and this all works fine. However, it still wouldn't connect to the airbag ECU, so I had a look.....and it seems I have one of those ECU's that the DIY software can't connect to. mad.gif I can possibly take it to my company's dealership and get them to do it....its just its an hour away.....so....sorry if this is a bad idea.....just a thought.....is there any reason why I can't swap the ECU out of my other car? AFAIK, its the same ECU.....

This post has been edited by will145: 16th May 2014 18:45
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Cloverleaf76
post 16th May 2014 20:01
Post #6 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,188
Joined: 29th February 2008
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
Member No.: 2,973
Driving: Alfa 145 Cloverleaf, Alfa 147
From: M25 J11



QUOTE(will145 @ 16th May 2014 19:44) *
Thanks for your help....I haven't got a clue with these sort of things. After a lot of fiddling with parameters, I finally got the laptop to connect with the engine ECU, and this all works fine. However, it still wouldn't connect to the airbag ECU, so I had a look.....and it seems I have one of those ECU's that the DIY software can't connect to. mad.gif I can possibly take it to my company's dealership and get them to do it....its just its an hour away.....so....sorry if this is a bad idea.....just a thought.....is there any reason why I can't swap the ECU out of my other car? AFAIK, its the same ECU.....


If you can't connect to the airbag ecu and you are absolutely certain you are doing everything right, the ecu could be goosed. Happened to me but binned the car before trying to swap it in. I'm pretty sure that a replacement would've slotted straight in. I would advise disconnecting the battery first though smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
will145
post 16th May 2014 20:53
Post #7 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 152
Joined: 19th July 2013
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: Wiltshire
Member No.: 11,134
Driving: GTV 2.0, 156 GTA, Fiat Cinquecento 16v Turbo, Audi A6, Seat Leon
From: Wiltshire or Spain



I'll give it another go tomorrow. I now at least know the cables okay and connects to the engine ECU. If it still doesn't work, I'll try swapping the ECU's and see what happens....I'll leave the battery disconnected for a while before I unplug the cables.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
will145
post 13th June 2014 19:35
Post #8 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 152
Joined: 19th July 2013
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: Wiltshire
Member No.: 11,134
Driving: GTV 2.0, 156 GTA, Fiat Cinquecento 16v Turbo, Audi A6, Seat Leon
From: Wiltshire or Spain



Finally got round to fitting the other ecu today.....problem solved smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
clock34
post 6th November 2014 18:51
Post #9 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 132
Joined: 16th January 2012
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
Member No.: 7,251
Driving: 145 QV
From: aspatria



glad to see its solved.

im having a similar problem although i know the cause.

ive always had the airbag light on. for years, however today i noticed the previous owner has cut the wire to the steeringwheel just after (wheel side) the plug. so ive unplugged it cleanely and wacked in a 2.2 ohm 0.6v resister as per the FAQ. now.......

how do i get the light to go off (if this has fixed it). ive got two airbag ECU'S and both show the light, no diag software tried but i do have the cables.

cars a 1996 and i also have a 97 ecu. both look identical in every way with no model numbers shown. car only has (had) one airbag in the wheel no others.

thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 6th November 2014 20:19
Post #10 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(clock34 @ 6th November 2014 18:51) *
im having a similar problem although i know the cause.

ive always had the airbag light on. for years, however today i noticed the previous owner has cut the wire to the steeringwheel just after (wheel side) the plug. so ive unplugged it cleanely and wacked in a 2.2 ohm 0.6v resister as per the FAQ. now.......

how do i get the light to go off (if this has fixed it). ive got two airbag ECU'S and both show the light, no diag software tried but i do have the cables.

cars a 1996 and i also have a 97 ecu. both look identical in every way with no model numbers shown. car only has (had) one airbag in the wheel no others.

thanks in advance

Post up a picture of the your airbag ECU so we can try and see what type it is.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
clock34
post 6th November 2014 23:23
Post #11 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 132
Joined: 16th January 2012
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
Member No.: 7,251
Driving: 145 QV
From: aspatria



they both look like this... this is the worst looking, the good one is in the car.






This post has been edited by clock34: 6th November 2014 23:24
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 7th November 2014 08:06
Post #12 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(clock34 @ 6th November 2014 23:23) *
they both look like this... this is the worst looking, the good one is in the car.

OK, assuming the airbag ECU in your car has the same part number as this one (60631206) then these are the TRW2 airbag ECUs that are more difficult to reset. You need to use a bit of software called "Trw2scan" which is a bit less user friendly than the others but it's supposed to do the job if you can manage to run it. See the details under the heading for "Trw2scan" in the following post...

http://forum.alfa145.com/index.php?showtopic=18638


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
clock34
post 8th November 2014 14:37
Post #13 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 132
Joined: 16th January 2012
Local Time: 17th October 2018 21:54
Member No.: 7,251
Driving: 145 QV
From: aspatria



Brilliant, ive got trw2 downloaded now and ill give it ago this afternoon.

thanks again!
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17 Oct 2018 20:54