IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> ECU Fault Codes
expat2000
post 13th February 2009 18:26
Post #21 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 13th February 2009
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
Member No.: 3,934
Driving: 146 1.6 Twin Spark
From: Derbyshire



Hi

Just trying to get into this diagnostic lark and need some advice.

I have a 1998 146 with the early Bosch ECU, i.e. the engine light on the dash is shaped like an injector.

I have got an old laptop with a serial port and an obd to 3 pin adapter and downloaded the kwp71 software so all I think I need is an obd to serial interface. I have found a circuit board specification online but would prefer to buy one if the price is right.

I found this one on ebay

VAG interace lead

Is sonething like this OK as there appear to be loads available for VAG vehicles but not for others. If the interface supports KKL it should work with just the K line on the 146 when the correct software is used? Or am I completely off?

Thanks in advance
Stuart
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 13th February 2009 23:11
Post #22 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(expat2000 @ 13th February 2009 18:26) *
I have got an old laptop with a serial port and an obd to 3 pin adapter and downloaded the kwp71 software so all I think I need is an obd to serial interface. I have found a circuit board specification online but would prefer to buy one if the price is right.

I found this one on ebay

VAG interace lead

Is sonething like this OK as there appear to be loads available for VAG vehicles but not for others. If the interface supports KKL it should work with just the K line on the 146 when the correct software is used? Or am I completely off?

That's exactly what you need. The Alfa uses the same KKL interface as the VAG cars use. It's the CAN BUS leads that are no use.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Curley
post 22nd March 2009 17:32
Post #23 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 27th April 2007
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
Member No.: 2,410
Driving: 146 1.6 Boxer
From: Dublin, Ireland



This is a long shot, but i need to get the ECU on my 146 1.6 8v Boxer 1995. The Alfa dealers in Dublin have upgraded their systems, therefore cant get the error read.
So is there any way to do this??
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 22nd March 2009 18:23
Post #24 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(Curley @ 22nd March 2009 17:32) *
This is a long shot, but i need to get the ECU on my 146 1.6 8v Boxer 1995. The Alfa dealers in Dublin have upgraded their systems, therefore cant get the error read.
So is there any way to do this??

The Boxer 1.6 is fitted with one of the following two ECU's
  • Bosch Motronic MP3.1 ECU (fitted to the early cars)
  • GM Rochester ECU (fitted to the later cars)
If it's the Bosch one then any Bosch automotive specialist should have the necessary equipment to read / clear the ECU fault codes. If you're not sure which ECU your car has then PM me your VIN number and I can tell you.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
craig26283
post 22nd March 2009 20:02
Post #25 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 392
Joined: 4th February 2009
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
Member No.: 3,919
Driving: Alfa 145 Qv
From: Glasgow



This looks to be quite interesting smile.gif

I have an old laptop (well a duron 1.2, not a 386 or something lol) with serial port and i have a P reg alloy top 145! Meaning i have

Id love to give this a shot...! Meaning i have the M2.10.x (3 or 4) ecu.

I downloaded the programs i have seen mentioned... fiat coupe and kwp71 (and will buy alfadiag, if need be, when i make some progress with the others)

Led to believe i need two other cables. One serial to obdII (is this correct, as i know mines is not obdII) and an obdII to the 3 pin alfa/fiat?

Or can i make this and using what?

Thanks!

Craig (slightly confused)
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
hairoil
post 15th May 2012 21:35
Post #26 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 15th April 2012
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
From: louth ireland
Member No.: 7,613
Driving: Alfa 146 junior
From: Collon, Louth, Ireland



Got it working tonight but it was dark and cold so i cut it short.. (putting the red wire on the + helped a lot!)

the pic is of the two error codes which were on the ecu, i checked some paramaters too and the max rpm exceeded read '7280 rpm' and it wasnt me! rant.gif
What is the graph section used for?
Also i have a question regarding 'W. Lamp' in the pic. what does this refer to? is there only one temperature sensor? (water)
also what is my lambda sensor integrator? (the sensor in the exhaust)
Thanks in advance of all replies.

P.S. I love the alfa145 forum. Big Kiss.

Attached Image
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 15th May 2012 23:04
Post #27 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 17th October 2018 05:57
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(hairoil @ 15th May 2012 22:35) *
What is the graph section used for?
Also i have a question regarding 'W. Lamp' in the pic. what does this refer to? is there only one temperature sensor? (water)
also what is my lambda sensor integrator? (the sensor in the exhaust)

The graph is used for more in-depth diagnosis of sensors where you can plot different values the sensor is giving out over a period of time (see this thread for the sort of graphs produced during lambda sensor diagnosis).

You only have one water temperature sensor on your car (mounted in the top of the thermostat) and the water temperature warning lamp fault means there is an issue with that sensor. Out of interest, are you getting a water temperature reading on the dash gauge? And are you also getting a water temperature reading in FiatECUScan? (tick the box next to the "Engine temperature" setting in the Parameters tab).

The P0170 lambda sensor integrator fault is a problem with the lambda sensor where the ECU is receiving an abnormally low signal from that sensor.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17 Oct 2018 04:57