IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fiat Gm Ecu
idan
post 11th September 2014 20:13
Post #1 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 11th September 2014
Local Time: 18th December 2018 19:45
Member No.: 11,831
Driving: fiat
From: il



Hi there
Coming from the fiatforum seeking for answers smile.gif

I have a 1.6 Punto which has a GM ECU. I've read that the Alfa 145 uses it?
Is it the same ECU?



I know that only the FIAT Examiner could connect to that one.
Is there any way to connect to the 3 pin socket with the right program to read fault codes?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
black 146
post 11th September 2014 20:34
Post #2 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 3,368
Joined: 2nd January 2009
Local Time: 18th December 2018 20:45
From: norfolk
Member No.: 3,861
Driving: alfa 145 1.6ish
From: norfolk



QUOTE(idan @ 11th September 2014 21:13) *
Hi there
Coming from the fiatforum seeking for answers smile.gif

I have a 1.6 Punto which has a GM ECU. I've read that the Alfa 145 uses it?
Is it the same ECU?



I know that only the FIAT Examiner could connect to that one.
Is there any way to connect to the 3 pin socket with the right program to read fault codes?



http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-Romeo-145-1...=item3387050cdc
this is the ones that go on the twin sparks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
buellboy
post 11th September 2014 21:54
Post #3 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 2,436
Joined: 11th July 2008
Local Time: 18th December 2018 20:45
From: London
Member No.: 3,211
Driving: '96 145 QV (alfie) featured in C&S mag, '99 GTV 3.0 V6 Six speed Aereo (bussolina)
From: London



Fiat examiner or uniscan 1.83. I got uniscan to work and connect to an alfa 145 1.7 boxer
Needs a machine with dos and a serial port. I even got it to work on a laptop but needed a serious serial pmcia card with drivers for dos which were difficult to find.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
idan
post 12th September 2014 11:05
Post #4 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 11th September 2014
Local Time: 18th December 2018 19:45
Member No.: 11,831
Driving: fiat
From: il



Oh!
I got it working on a virtual WIN98 machine:





It seems to read every FIAT model and my ECU!
I'll get one, is it a Chinese product?

The only ones I found are on Aliexpress and Alibaba, not ebay:

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Uniscan-ver.../454187290.html

Does that link look safe?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
buellboy
post 12th September 2014 23:45
Post #5 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 2,436
Joined: 11th July 2008
Local Time: 18th December 2018 20:45
From: London
Member No.: 3,211
Driving: '96 145 QV (alfie) featured in C&S mag, '99 GTV 3.0 V6 Six speed Aereo (bussolina)
From: London



It will not work in virtual win 98 as the drivers for the serial cards won't work. You can however make a bootable partition or usb key with freedos and it will work. There should be some good uniscan on a polish website that I forget the name of, but was a website specialising in hardware and software to communicate to ecus. Don't trust the Chinese s**t. ... It doesn't work


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
idan
post 13th September 2014 13:55
Post #6 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 11th September 2014
Local Time: 18th December 2018 19:45
Member No.: 11,831
Driving: fiat
From: il



Thanks

I will probably get a hold of a an old Compac Armada M300 laptop which has 1X serial port and a Parallel one.



Does the Parallel port acts like a serial port?
Would something like that work:



Or I'd still need a PCMCIA extender?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 13th September 2014 19:31
Post #7 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 18th December 2018 20:45
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



I never had any luck getting Uniscan to work but I'm pretty sure you need two REAL serial ports. I don't think a parallel port is going to be any good even with a converter cable.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
buellboy
post 13th September 2014 19:56
Post #8 | Print


1.7 16v
*****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 2,436
Joined: 11th July 2008
Local Time: 18th December 2018 20:45
From: London
Member No.: 3,211
Driving: '96 145 QV (alfie) featured in C&S mag, '99 GTV 3.0 V6 Six speed Aereo (bussolina)
From: London



you need 2x serial ports. If you get one from a laptop, you then need to have another one from a PCMCIA card with the right drivers. I had all the necessary hardware but lost it during a move.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18 Dec 2018 19:45