IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> D*mmit- airbag light again, what do I need..?
dante giacosa
post 23rd July 2018 13:20
Post #1 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 702
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



BLAST!

I've got the airbag light again- and I don't think it's my fault...

what gear do I need to be able to interrogate the system..?

Can anyone enlighten me..?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
shpuncik
post 23rd July 2018 14:42
Post #2 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 105
Joined: 16th January 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 12,980
Driving: 145 1.6 Boxer; 145 1.9JTD Edizione Sportiva
From: Lithuania



vag kkl cable + 3 pin adapter + multiecuscan software

hardware is like this https://www.ebay.com/itm/VAG-KKL-OBD2-USB-C...g-/292061774534

This post has been edited by shpuncik: 23rd July 2018 14:43
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 24th July 2018 11:50
Post #3 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 702
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



Thanks for that

I'm a Mac user- will that software run on iOS gear..?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Ganz
post 24th July 2018 13:45
Post #4 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 918
Joined: 2nd November 2012
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
From: East Mids
Member No.: 10,640
Driving: 145 Cloverleaf 2.0L ts
From: uk



I've had the same problem since I disconnected the airbag ecu when I rebuilt the 145. There are two options: put some black electrical tape over the dash light or get the diagnostic multiscan tool. I've got the Fiat multiscan paid version for one year. It wants to do an diagnostic read on the airbag but.. there is a warning that doing this might result in something terrible. The message alone is enough to put me off running a scan as I don't know if the air bag will detonate or something worse. I am sure there are procedures and the ones that I have read on the net amount to doing a numbers of things as well as getting the stars aligned. Therefore for now I am driving with the airbag lights on. If it aint majorly broke don't ever fix it.


--------------------
G A N Z 145

Instagram
ganz145_alfa
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
VROOM
post 24th July 2018 15:57
Post #5 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 72
Joined: 11th June 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,153
Driving: BRERA, GIULIETTA, 145QV
From: FLINTSHIRE UK



I had to reset mine the other week. Was a bit nervous, but couldn't have been easier. Bought the cables from idiagnostics and then followed this guide.
http://forum.alfa145.com/index.php?showtop...8638&hl=obd

Airbag ecu is behind the dash panel. Downloaded the free version of multiecuscan. Plugged in the cable and the software told me the fault was in the passenger seat airbag. Disconnected the battery for 10 mins, unplugged the cable under the seat and then plugged it back in. Re-connected battery and did a fault clear in the software. Airbag light now gone. Looks like the airbag ECU type on my car can be reset in the free version of the software which was a good result. So basically cost me about 10 for the cable.
Attached Image
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
shpuncik
post 24th July 2018 22:49
Post #6 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 105
Joined: 16th January 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 12,980
Driving: 145 1.6 Boxer; 145 1.9JTD Edizione Sportiva
From: Lithuania



QUOTE(dante giacosa @ 24th July 2018 12:50) *
Thanks for that

I'm a Mac user- will that software run on iOS gear..?


No. Needs Windows so will have to use virtualbox or something similar
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 25th July 2018 09:07
Post #7 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 702
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



ok Valdas- thanks


I'm not sure you'd ever end up triggering the bag from the software?

It came on for me a few months back, when I swapped out the interior for an older MOMO one without seat airbags. Local specialist reset it for me after I fitted the dummy-load resistors into the wiring for the seats.

I can't ignore it, as the car will fail the MOT.

thinking caps on- I have a feeling its actually one of the remaining airbags- like the passenger side front; can you still get those..?

Thanks for your help
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
shpuncik
post 25th July 2018 10:02
Post #8 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 105
Joined: 16th January 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 12,980
Driving: 145 1.6 Boxer; 145 1.9JTD Edizione Sportiva
From: Lithuania



Most likely resistor for seat airbag came loose or lost connection for a brief moment. Still diagnostic cable will be of much help as it tells which airbag triggered fault
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 25th July 2018 15:02
Post #9 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 702
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



Hmm-

I'd like to believe that diagnosis. Particularly as I STILL hadn't got round to cable tying up the residual looms with resistors on, and I was going on holiday and had tonnes of stuff in the floor wells at the moment it came on again.


last time my specialist did it for free, although they took 45 minutes to find the right diagnostic tool, and then navigate through it to the right point.

I think this time; I'll ask them to replace the crank-sensor whilst the car is in- make it worth their while...

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Ganz
post 26th July 2018 22:15
Post #10 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 918
Joined: 2nd November 2012
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
From: East Mids
Member No.: 10,640
Driving: 145 Cloverleaf 2.0L ts
From: uk



QUOTE(VROOM @ 24th July 2018 16:57) *
I had to reset mine the other week. Was a bit nervous, but couldn't have been easier. Bought the cables from idiagnostics and then followed this guide.
http://forum.alfa145.com/index.php?showtop...8638&hl=obd

Airbag ecu is behind the dash panel. Downloaded the free version of multiecuscan. Plugged in the cable and the software told me the fault was in the passenger seat airbag. Disconnected the battery for 10 mins, unplugged the cable under the seat and then plugged it back in. Re-connected battery and did a fault clear in the software. Airbag light now gone. Looks like the airbag ECU type on my car can be reset in the free version of the software which was a good result. So basically cost me about 10 for the cable.
Attached Image


Mmm.. I never tried that connector on my multiscan software doh.gif I'll let you know how I get on.


--------------------
G A N Z 145

Instagram
ganz145_alfa
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
JeremyG
post 27th July 2018 13:46
Post #11 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 229
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2018 05:11
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic, 145 QV
From: Oxford



This is always an interesting question - the relevance of the airbag light being on - because, how likely is it that the airbag system will function on a 20 year old car anyway - assuming all the 'bags are the original ones?

Anyhow, as you say - you'll fail the MoT unless you fix this. I'd agree with all the above advice - MES will reset the airbag light, provided you have a Windows PC plus the two leads: USB VAG/KKL lead plus 3 pin adapter. Make sure you get a legit VAG/KKL lead as some cheap ones are dodgy. See details at www.multiecuscan.net for details on this. I bought leads from www.gendan.co.uk.

Not sure what Mac options exist (without using a PC emulator like Parallels) - but the Gendan website might have info on tools that will run on a mobile device...

Good luck with fixing this. FYI the driver's seat triggered the warning light when I owned the car - but I believe you've changed the seats since then, right?

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 27th July 2018 15:09
Post #12 | Print


1.6 8v
***

Group: Regular
Posts: 702
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 24th October 2018 06:11
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



hmm... thats interesting- thanks Mr G

yes- the old seats aren't 'bothering anyone now' shall we say.

okay- thanks for that info on the leads & multiscan; that's very helpful- i don't think i'd bother with an emulator to be honest- I'd probably buy a knock-down notebook PC of some kind to run it...

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24 Oct 2018 05:11