IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 146 1.8 juddering on over-run
JeremyG
post 2nd October 2016 09:21
Post #1 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic
From: Oxford



Hi All,

Just purchased a 146 1.8 on 101k miles and am working through the to-do list to get the car roadworthy.

One question I could do with some help on, regarding the engine:

It starts easily and runs (mostly) fine; it's quiet with no variator noise and it revs freely.

However, it's not smooth on the over-run: the revs drop suddenly when you take your foot off the throttle. Not major, but it makes the car very hard to drive smoothly around town.

Fault-finding is tricky as I can't get a connection to the engine ECU (using MultiECUScan) - ABS and Airbag ECU connectors work fine.

Can anyone suggest the likely cause or path to fault-finding?

cheers!

Jeremy

This post has been edited by JeremyG: 2nd October 2016 09:22
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 2nd October 2016 20:51
Post #2 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



The most common causes of running issues are the following:-
  • BBOB (the fuses and relays in front of the battery - just do a search on here for that term)
  • MAF Sensor
  • Lambda Sensor
  • Coolant Temperature Sensor

As for the MES connection failure with your engine ECU, you are connecting the red crocodile clip to a permanent positive of the battery and the ignition is switched on isn't it? They might sound like stupid questions but people have been known not to have done that in the past so they have to be asked smile.gif Also, what cable are you using and is it one that uses the FTDI chipset?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
JeremyG
post 3rd October 2016 00:18
Post #3 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic
From: Oxford



The cable: a VAG-KKL USB cable purchased from Gendan when I first purchased MultiECUscan. It's always worked fine with my 166.

For the 146, the three pin cable came from eBay (iDiagnostics) - and yes, I've been connecting the red flylead to a 12V supply.

I've assumed that because I can get data from the airbag and ABS ECUs that the lead is OK?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 3rd October 2016 19:38
Post #4 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



OK. If the cable came from Gendan then it's likely to be one of the better ones and you've already proven it works with the ABS and Airbag ECU.

The issue is therefore more likely to either be a latency problem between your laptop and the Engine ECU, or a connection issue between the engine ECU diagnostics socket and the connector that goes into the ECU (i.e  a broken wire). The Bosch Engine ECUs with a 3-pin diagnostics connector seem to be more sensitive to latency issues than the ABS and Airbag ECUs.

Instructions on tweaking the latency is in the Multiecuscan installation & setup help guide PDF that can be downloaded from their website.

You can confirm whether or not there's a broken wire to the diagnostics socket by doing a continuity check with a multimeter from the pins in the socket to earth (black wire) and to the ECU connector (yellow wire).

If you've already done both of the above then please just ignore my teaching you to suck eggs biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
JeremyG
post 8th October 2016 17:22
Post #5 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic
From: Oxford



QUOTE(GialloEvo94 @ 3rd October 2016 20:38) *
You can confirm whether or not there's a broken wire to the diagnostics socket by doing a continuity check with a multimeter from the pins in the socket to earth (black wire) and to the ECU connector (yellow wire).

If you've already done both of the above then please just ignore my teaching you to suck eggs biggrin.gif


Thanks for this: continuity on earth wire checks out fine; however I can't trace back to the ECU from the diagnostic socket to check continuity of the yellow wire. Can you tell me which connector/pin at the ECU end it connects to???
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
JeremyG
post 9th October 2016 09:18
Post #6 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic
From: Oxford



Finally solved the problem by setting "KWP2000 Timings" to "Slow" in the Interfaces Settings tab of MultiECUScan... revealing a P1653 Phase Variator error. I've cleared this.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 12th October 2016 00:31
Post #7 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



QUOTE(JeremyG @ 9th October 2016 10:18) *
Finally solved the problem by setting "KWP2000 Timings" to "Slow" in the Interfaces Settings tab of MultiECUScan... revealing a P1653 Phase Variator error. I've cleared this.

Sorry I didn't get back to you with a pin-out as I've been pretty busy over the past week. Looks like you've sorted the diagnostics connection issue now anyway which is some good news smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
JeremyG
post 23rd October 2016 10:44
Post #8 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 19th August 2016
Local Time: 24th October 2017 08:45
Member No.: 12,797
Driving: Spider 2.0, 166 3.0 Sportronic
From: Oxford



Looks like this issue has been solved by performing an ECU/throttle actuator reset.

This post has been edited by JeremyG: 23rd October 2016 10:44
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24 Oct 2017 07:45