IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bbob Relay & Fuse Positions, Fuses & relays located around the battery
mmica
post 3rd June 2008 07:15
Post #1 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: 21st September 2006
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
From: MALTA
Member No.: 1,769
Driving: alfa 146 ts
From: malta



Hi Guys,

I am suspecting that one of the relays may have a loose connection and not working properly. My car sometimes is really really fast but sometimes it's sluggish. I noticed that whenever i touch the relays, it works fine but sometimes not...

I know that i have 4 relays in the bbob...

One large one ( black ) which seems to control everything..
One red with a fuse - this i dont know
one red with no fuse - this if i m not mistaken is used by the fuel pump
another red with a fuse. ( this definitely is used by the a.c unit )

Now my question is as follows,, Does the relay for the variator have a fuse ? if not, could it be the same on as for the pump ?

I have a 146 T.S year 1999


thanks
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
GialloEvo94
post 3rd June 2008 13:10
Post #2 | Print


Forum Administrator
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,490
Joined: 11th June 2005
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
From: South Oxfordshire, UK
Member No.: 954
Driving: Alfa 145 QV, Lancia Delta Integrale Evo, SEAT Leon Mk2 FR+ TDI DSG
From: South Oxfordshire, UK



I forget which engine you have but I think it's the plastic top (with the ECU on top of the throttle body housing). If so, then the variator isn't operated by a relay...it's on/off operation is switched directly by the ECU with no inline relay (it's only the alloy top engines that use an inline relay - the ECU switches a relay which in turn then operates the variator). Assuming that your BBOB hasn't been rewired into a different order then the standard order of relays and fuses in the BBOB are as follows...


Fuse / Relay Locations

The relays in that box (from left to right):-
  1. Black -> Radiator Fan Relay
  2. Red -> Main Engine Relay (Main +12v power for Air Flow Meter, Fuel Vapour Recovery System, Lambda Probe, Phase Variator, Variable Geometry Solenoid, and Fuel Injectors)
  3. Red -> Fuel Pump Relay
  4. Red -> A/C Compressor Relay
The fuses in that box (from left to right):-
  1. Fuse 1 (15A) -> Main +12v power for Air Flow Meter, Fuel Vapour Recovery System, Lambda Probe, Phase Variator, and Variable Geometry Solenoid
  2. Fuse 2 (15A) -> Main +12v power for Fuel Injectors
You can see some pictures of the relays and fuses in this post.


Wiring Diagrams

Wiring diagrams for relay 1 (black relay) can be found on page 34/1 of this document:-
  • Relay 1 is I99 on the diagram (labelled Engine Cooling Fan 1st Speed Relay)
Wiring diagrams for relays 2 & 3 (red relays) and for fuses 1 & 2 can be found on page 2 of this document:-
  • Relay 2 is S41 on the diagram (labelled Main Relay)
  • Relay 3 is S12a on the diagram (labelled Motronic Fuel Pump Relay)
  • Fuse 1 is S45 on the diagram (labelled Lambda Probe Fuse)
  • Fuse 2 is S46 on the diagram (labelled Fuse for Motronic Supply)
Wiring diagrams for relay 4 (red relay) can be found on page 20/3 of this document:-
  • Relay 4 is Q22 on the diagram (labelled Electromagnetic Coupling Relay)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
mmica
post 3rd June 2008 21:26
Post #3 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: 21st September 2006
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
From: MALTA
Member No.: 1,769
Driving: alfa 146 ts
From: malta



Gee, thanks a lot for the info... You are more informed than the dealers themselves.

your description is 100% accurate. I had replaced all the 4 relays and remember pretty well the ac and fuel ones...

ok, so my problems is not the variator, since it is pretty new.

just one thing... could it be bad fuel ?... I noticed my car, after a short / long journey, emits a smell like that of drainage from the silencer.. This is not the first time i noticed it however this week has been more than usual, and it happens to be from the last refuelling i did, which seems also to have affected performance.

Any other idea ?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
returner
post 3rd June 2008 22:01
Post #4 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,496
Joined: 11th February 2008
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
Member No.: 2,935
Driving: 155
From: england



it may very well be the fuel. i notice a big performance drop every time i fill up at tesco's, now i end up filling up at a total garage and going to a tesco for me fags as there alot cheaper. pain in the a**e but it p**ses me off having to pay such a premium on fuel and not actually get the quality your paying for
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
mmica
post 4th June 2008 06:33
Post #5 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: 21st September 2006
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
From: MALTA
Member No.: 1,769
Driving: alfa 146 ts
From: malta



Well, at least there you have a choice...

In malta, there is only one importer presently ( hopefully market will soon be liberalised ), and am pretty sure they get the worse quality of fuel... Currently fuel here costs 0.75 GBp per litre and as i said, it sucks.....

I know people who faied the mot because of emissions, then they managed to get some fuel out of cars imported form the uk and they passed the test... unbelievable...
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
black_mac
post 8th October 2010 13:19
Post #6 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 24th October 2009
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
Member No.: 4,509
Driving: 146 twin spark
From: nottingham



QUOTE(mmica @ 4th June 2008 07:33) *
Well, at least there you have a choice...

In malta, there is only one importer presently ( hopefully market will soon be liberalised ), and am pretty sure they get the worse quality of fuel... Currently fuel here costs 0.75 GBp per litre and as i said, it sucks.....

I know people who faied the mot because of emissions, then they managed to get some fuel out of cars imported form the uk and they passed the test... unbelievable...



wow i just paid 1.28 a litre... consider yourself lucky mate... lol

and can you send me some!!! hahahah

in fact i might just consider moving for that price!!!

bugs me because autogas is ony 0.65 a litre but cant find it anywhere down my ends
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
LuisMiguelC
post 2nd May 2011 21:36
Post #7 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 141
Joined: 26th August 2010
Local Time: 18th September 2019 14:40
From: Lisboa, Portugal
Member No.: 5,435
Driving: Alfa Romeo 146 Junior
From: Lisboa, Portugal



My car has an alloy top engine, and I have two black boxes around the battery. I want to know which relay controls the AC, because the revs don't rise as soon as the compressor is on (I mean, idle should rise to about 1000/1100 with AC on max, right?)

Thank you! worshippy.gif
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Yellow 145
post 29th November 2012 15:34
Post #8 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 370
Joined: 19th December 2006
Local Time: 18th September 2019 13:40
From: essex
Member No.: 2,095
Driving: Zoe 145 1.8ish TS, Cosmos 145 16ishTS RIP
From: Epping Essex



Bump for JDman , may be of some help
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
hps1986
post 27th April 2013 15:00
Post #9 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 24th April 2013
Local Time: 18th September 2019 13:40
Member No.: 10,997
Driving: 145 Elegant 1995 2.0 TS



QUOTE(LuisMiguelC @ 2nd May 2011 21:36) *
My car has an alloy top engine, and I have two black boxes around the battery. I want to know which relay controls the AC, because the revs don't rise as soon as the compressor is on (I mean, idle should rise to about 1000/1100 with AC on max, right?)

Thank you! worshippy.gif


+1: Does anyone have the "decoding" of the alloy top BBoB? It's 2 black boxes around the battery...


--------------------
145 Elegant 2.0 TS 1995 CF1 - Blu Pervinca

Sorry about my poor english! I'm just a few degrees southwest UK :)
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Frank33146
post 6th July 2016 20:44
Post #10 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 6th July 2016
Local Time: 18th September 2019 13:40
Member No.: 12,740
Driving: Alfa 33 1.7IE Alfa 146 1.8 TS 16V
From: Netherlands



I can confirm that oxidation of the pins from the fuel pump relay can cause engine cut out while driving. The fuel pump stops, which occurs without sign, and the engine stops running, no trembling or hasitation, it just stops. Clean the pins and the problem is solved.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18 Sep 2019 13:40