IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Injection light stayiní alive!
Harpo
post 7th November 2020 22:23
Post #1 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 23rd September 2011
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
From: Derby
Member No.: 6,976
Driving: Alfa 145
From: Derbyshire



It blinks once and stays on - engine wonít start. no3.gif
Sooo, Iím here in this section to find out what I need. An ODB tester. A WHAT?
Iíve managed to get this far in my life but now it seems I need to speak to a computer in my car. WTF?
Okay, so Iím prepared to leave the 1960s and buy one. I donít have a laptop so Fiat scan etc is not what I need. I see you can buy a separate reader but I want to make sure itís ok for the 145 pocket rocket. Any opinions on what to buy or avoid? Where does it plug in? What will it tell me? Just a code that makes grown men cry as no doubt the Chinese pos wonít have a decode leaflet. Thatís what 4 years of Trump gets you.
Back to reading of tales of woe from those that have already gone down this path. Wish me luck!
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 8th November 2020 00:59
Post #2 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,559
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



hey Harpo-

I can't bring much to the party, in terms of hardware, but I can tell you you plug into a 3-pole AMP superseal connector on the OS suspension turret.

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
DobloMaudito
post 9th November 2020 20:26
Post #3 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 26th October 2020
Local Time: 27th November 2020 16:04
Member No.: 14,026
Driving: Alfa 156 sw, land 109, alfa 145, doblo
From: Auvergne France



I used to plug by obd reader with special cable but it dorsn t work unfortunztelyy
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
sanitary
post 9th November 2020 21:12
Post #4 | Print


1.4 16v
**

Group: Regular
Posts: 272
Joined: 12th December 2004
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
Member No.: 662
Driving: in front of you
From: Lardtown, 'ulll



depending on which phase version you have depends on whether ecuscan software will work or demand money with menaces... as I found out after spending ages getting everything to work

and after a lot of bad language etc. this sorted all my starting and running problems:

the first thing I would do is pull every fuse and relay you can find under the bonnet and give them a really good 'Minty fresh' clean especially the ones around the battery (well known for causing problems)

use some petroleum jelly (vaseline) on all the electrical connections to help to prevent more corrosion


this may not sort the problem but it will at least get you on way




san
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Harpo
post 9th November 2020 21:54
Post #5 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 23rd September 2011
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
From: Derby
Member No.: 6,976
Driving: Alfa 145
From: Derbyshire



Chaps, your replies boost my morale in this electronic quest of mine, so thank you.
I have done a lot of reading and scared myself plenty. I’m a little familiar with the relays in front of the battery, known in this parish as the BBoB. Or is it BoBB? Anyway, I’ve checked the relay connect areas and they are not too bad. I swapped the relays around and it made no difference.
Lockdown could be over before the culprit is found. But to provide hours of fun I’m going to buy one of the cheapo readers and talk to my car. If no joy I will revert to the John Cleese method, if I can find a tree around here that is.
I have read several times about the present generation of large luxury cars being scrapped before their time due to complications with the many ecus they have and will have little to no support/knowledge that will be available.
I’m more used to the era of cars that rust away with perfect running gear. The 145 falls between these 2 types and I’m determined not to let down the clan of 145.
TLDR: I’m gonna fix it ... somehow!

This post has been edited by Harpo: 9th November 2020 21:55
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
DobloMaudito
post 11th November 2020 12:05
Post #6 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 26th October 2020
Local Time: 27th November 2020 16:04
Member No.: 14,026
Driving: Alfa 156 sw, land 109, alfa 145, doblo
From: Auvergne France



Harpo. Are you sure that your timing belt is ok? On my 145, when the timing was not right done it blink the injection light
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Ganz
post 11th November 2020 21:27
Post #7 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Joined: 2nd November 2012
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
From: East Mids
Member No.: 10,640
Driving: 145 Cloverleaf 2.0L ts
From: uk



I agree with San, check the BBoB and their connectors/wiring. I had one relay years ago that caused the same thing you had: it immobilized my engine (ignition light stayed on). It took me a month to sort lol. It was relay S42. However you said that you had swapped all the relays over. I cannot remember if they are the same as in SPST or SPDT. I had brought some new relays but found out that there are different wiring diagrams for the 5 pin 30 relay before I realised.

During the fault finding process I had checked every fuse and multimetered the entire car.

Once sorted I cleaned all the relay contacts and the associated wiring and covered them in vaseline and silicon tape. This was back in 2013. Last December one of the fuel relays stopped working and I couldn't fire up the car. I had also noticed that the connector block had some green oxidisation - however, it was over 7 years ago when I last service that area. Cleaned each connector to the relay and been fine since.
I've got FiatMultiscan running on a laptop on windows xp - the thing is for the 145 diagnosis you have to use the full version and that requires a 50 euro license. That 3 pin connector is not very reliable and this time around I couldn't even get to connect tot the ECU.

This post has been edited by Ganz: 11th November 2020 21:28


--------------------
G A N Z 145

Instagram
ganz145_alfa



Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 11th November 2020 21:28
Post #8 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,559
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



'whoa!'

really?

wow- I need to have a think about how that's possible...


I wonder if the ECU spotted detonation, through the anti-knock sensors, and flagged it that way...

In this case however; the engine won't start.

was yours a non-starter also, 'Maudito..?
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
DobloMaudito
post 12th November 2020 19:04
Post #9 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 26th October 2020
Local Time: 27th November 2020 16:04
Member No.: 14,026
Driving: Alfa 156 sw, land 109, alfa 145, doblo
From: Auvergne France



Nop.... Mine start easily... But the light was shining. I redo (?) the timing and now all is ok
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Harpo
post 12th November 2020 23:46
Post #10 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 23rd September 2011
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
From: Derby
Member No.: 6,976
Driving: Alfa 145
From: Derbyshire



Timing belt? Please donít say that as it makes me nervous haha, because I have the new one and all necessary tools and Ďtings sat in a box in the hallway.
The last change was in 2014 (panic!!!!) so I donít use this car much for obvious reasons. At the last MOT the tester said he thought there was a noise perhaps from a bearing. Maybe the tensioner. I need to get my finger out.
Well, I had a little fiddle around the bbob and fairly confident that is ok (famous last words). I have read that all 3 relays are the same.
I can hear the fuel pump running so I have used that relay for the engine sensors. But no joy. I havenít checked the wiring below come to think of it and that was the fault with another car. A broken wire which the loom was hanging off. I expect moving around a little eventually caused it to fatigue and break.
Anyway, a chap on the Midlands sells a cable to go from the 3 pin to 16 pin for the ODB reader, but not the ODB reader itself. I want one that resets the fault and not just to read it. I still havenít decided which one to buy. In the meantime I have a local friendly Fiat mechanic coming in the morning with his 3 pin reader. He got it some years for a Punto. We have agreed £20 which is okay I think. So we will have to continue to sit on the edge of our seats in the mystery of my injection light!
I do intend to buy my own reader in due course as I want to be able to suss out future problems.
Doing google searches finds tons of posts from this site but from absolutely yonks ago. Not much in recent years no doubt to the reduced traffic here.
Some helpful posts on other Alfa sites which maybe I should join. Iím only a member on here. Anyway, I digress and will update here as and when to possibly help others in the future.

Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
Harpo
post 13th November 2020 18:51
Post #11 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 23rd September 2011
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
From: Derby
Member No.: 6,976
Driving: Alfa 145
From: Derbyshire



8 faults read, mostly historical I believe. The chap cleared them all and then tried to start the car. The one new fault was Ďcrankshaft position sensorí so job done.

I had to google what this is and where itís fitted. Lots of links including to this site from well over 10 years ago as well
as Alfa owner where our very own GE had posted useful stuff (thanks dude!).
Looks like the easiest way is to remove the battery box to gain access. Iíve a few old engines here so I will grab a sensor from one to hopefully fix it. The weather forecast isnít so good this weekend so it might have to wait until next week.

I have learnt that with my symptoms that maybe 9 times out of 10 it will be the crankshaft position sensor. It all seems so easy now (ha!) that Iíve done a ton of reading. A half decent OBD reader is on my list of tools to buy as well as buying a new sensor to keep in the glovebox. Will update when itís running again.
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
DobloMaudito
post 13th November 2020 19:08
Post #12 | Print


1.3 8v
*

Group: New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 26th October 2020
Local Time: 27th November 2020 16:04
Member No.: 14,026
Driving: Alfa 156 sw, land 109, alfa 145, doblo
From: Auvergne France



QUOTE(Harpo @ 13th November 2020 19:51) *
8 faults read, mostly historical I believe. The chap cleared them all and then tried to start the car. The one new fault was Ďcrankshaft position sensorí so job done.

I had to google what this is and where itís fitted. Lots of links including to this site from well over 10 years ago as well
as Alfa owner where our very own GE had posted useful stuff (thanks dude!).
Looks like the easiest way is to remove the battery box to gain access. Iíve a few old engines here so I will grab a sensor from one to hopefully fix it. The weather forecast isnít so good this weekend so it might have to wait until next week.

I have learnt that with my symptoms that maybe 9 times out of 10 it will be the crankshaft position sensor. It all seems so easy now (ha!) that Iíve done a ton of reading. A half decent OBD reader is on my list of tools to buy as well as buying a new sensor to keep in the glovebox. Will update when itís running again.


You can change your sensor at the same time you do the timing belt.... It s not a big job and you will eliminate two ways of faults...
Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post
dante giacosa
post 15th November 2020 10:58
Post #13 | Print


1.6 16v
****

Group: Veteran
Posts: 1,559
Joined: 28th March 2017
Local Time: 27th November 2020 15:04
Member No.: 13,068
Driving: 146 CF2 1.8 T-spark
From: Edinburgh



QUOTE(DobloMaudito @ 13th November 2020 19:08) *
You can change your sensor at the same time you do the timing belt.... It s not a big job and you will eliminate two ways of faults...


Well done, Harpo-

I was going to mention the crank sensor initially, but what you describe isn't classically how they fail.

Usually you are driving along and they heat up and then the car stops. You wait a while (the sensor cools down) and then you can get going again. And repeat...
But you described the thing just being dead-on-the-driveway, so to speak, which is a new one on me!

I think it's a 5 or 6mm Allen key, and is 'around' the starter-motor at the back. The trickiest bit is the wiring-clip I believe.
I had mine changed pre-emptively a couple of years back- I assume my car has had the same one since new, so it'll probably be another 19 years before I need to replace it again!


'Other Alfa sites are available' of course- I'm a member of one myself; but the specialism that we have for the 146.gif 145.gif on this resource is unmatched. Plus: if you think the traffic here is slow; you could wait a month for a reply on 'other' resources, and in my experience the answer is often less informed.
The same is certainly the case also for Facebook, where the inherently linear timeline, stacks your thread within a constantly incremental feed of new stuff.
We are a small group now, and that's the way it is!

What external resources are good for; is generic engine-only questions.
A lot of the T-spark stuff lives on on the more ubiquitous 156 of course- and there's many people still tickling those.


Go to the top of the page
View Vehicles
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27 Nov 2020 15:04